Aug 11


MARK YOUR CALENDARS and plan to attend – great opportunities to network with your colleagues in specific content areas!



September 14-16, 2017

The Villages

Breckenridge, CO



November 9-10, 2017

Lowry Conference Center

Denver, CO



(Family & Consumer Sciences)

January 25-27, 2018


Fort Collins, CO




February 5-9, 2018

Embassy Suites

Loveland, CO




June, 2018


Permanent link to this article:

Aug 11


Here is the YouTube link to the video from the 2017 CACTE CareerTech Summit, celebrating 100 years of Colorado Career & Technical Education!  Enjoy and share it widely!

Many thanks to Shelley Goerdt and Mainstream Video Production for putting this production together.

Permanent link to this article:

Jul 28

2017 CACTE CareerTech Summit Presentations

Thanks to everyone who attended the 2017 CACTE CareerTech Summit, celebrating “A Century of Colorado Career & Technical Education!”


Here are the presentations which have been shared with CACTE so far.  If you are looking for something specific that hasn’t been posted yet, email Debbie at and she will ask the presenter about sharing it. 🙂

2017-7-19 Steve DeWitt ACTE gen session presentation

Career Pathway Presentation-Thomas Hartman

Perkins in the Classroom-Victoria Crownover

WIOA Infrastructure Funding Agreements Update-Victoria Crownover

Work-Based Learning-Renise Walker-Melissa Martin

2017 CACTE Apple presentation Scott Elias

Permanent link to this article:

Jul 28


Thank you to these leaders who have stepped up for their career and technical education professional association!  We especially appreciate Mimi Leonard serving as “honorary” past president, since Dr. Katy Blatnick-Gagne now lives and works in Lubbock, TX.  Katy, thank you so much for continuing to serve as president through the 2017 CACTE CareerTech Summit, despite moving south in March – we couldn’t have done it without you!

Serving on the 2017-2018 CACTE Executive Committee are:



President:  Jay Moore




President-Elect:  Kimberly Baldwin



Secretary:  Jen Girvin




Treasurer:  Janny Jarvis




Honorary Past President:  Mimi Leonard

Permanent link to this article:

Jul 10


Be sure to attend the CACTE Business Meeting during the 2017 CACTE CareerTech Summit on Thursday, July 20 from 8:30 – 9:30 am to cast your vote!



Kimberly Baldwin is a Career & Technical Education teacher with three decades of experience.  She has taught Family & Consumer Sciences in grades 6-12 in a variety of educational settings from rural to suburban school district in Iowa, Kansas and Colorado.  Currently, she teaches at Ponderosa High School in Douglas County and was recognized this summer as one of the top 3 Family & Consumer Sciences teachers nationally by the American Association of Family & Consumer Sciences!

Active involvement in professional associations is important to Kimberly.  She served as  an ACTE Fellow in 2016, learning the in’s and out’s of the association from a national perspective.  She has presented at CATFACS and VISION conferences and served on the CATFACS and CACTE Boards.  Kimberly has also served as the Colorado Association for Family & Consumer Sciences President.


Colorado CTE is beginning its second century with challenges that will cause us to be not just Educators but Advocates and Leaders.  I am seeking to be your President-Elect for CACTE to further the voice of CTE in Colorado and our nation.

CACTE has three main goals: Educate, Advocate, Lead.  Each of these is a factor in why I would like to assist CACTE to work towards the goals.

The goal to educate is foundational to what we do in the classroom. Daily we guide our learners and help them, to achieve their goals. We also need to collaborate to educate our colleagues with best practices for learning. I have presented at CATFACS, CACTE, Region V and Vision.

Advocating for CTE programs begins in our communities and then the state house.  Congress is also a vital link in advocating for CTE.  I have met with leaders at each of these levels to advocate for CTE.

Lead:  As members we must develop leaders in all areas of CTE to address the challenges that education is facing and to develop a new generation of educators and leaders.  I have completed the ACTE Fellow Program and am the Merit Winner for AAFCS National Teacher of the Year.

I look forward to working with Colorado ACTE.




Jen Girvin is no stranger to Career and Technical Education. Because of serving as a local, district and state officer in Family, Career and Community Leaders of America in high school, she went to school to become a Family and Consumer Sciences teacher.  After teaching a few years in southern Indiana, she moved to Indianapolis to become the Indiana FCCLA and HOSA (Future Health Professionals) State Adviser. Jen moved to Colorado in 2009 to work as the Colorado HOSA State Advisor and Assistant Program Director. She’s spent the last three years living in Texas and Georgia, working for both National HOSA and Georgia FCCLA. Jen is very excited to be back in Colorado to continue working in the CTSO world as the Colorado FBLA-PBL State Adviser.  In her spare time, Jen and her husband, Alex, dream of all the places they would love to travel! Alex continues to play the lottery in hopes of funding the “around the world” travel!


I have long enjoyed being a part of leadership teams. I am organized and detailed and my favorite leadership position is that of secretary. Providing an account of meeting minutes to the leadership team in a timely manner can assist in the organization’s forward movement. I look forward to potentially serving CACTE as the Secretary and giving back to this organization that means so much to Career and Technical Education!


Permanent link to this article:

Dec 09

Colorado ACTE Receives the 2016 ACTE Quality Association Award

Colorado ACTE receives the 2016 ACTE Quality Association Award for yet another year.

qas-award-certificate-2016Colorado ACTE receives the 2016 ACTE Quality Association Award for yet another year. This is the ninth year Colorado ACTE has received this award from ACTE. Thank you to all of the CACTE Officers and members.


The mission of the Association for Career and Technical Education is to provide educational leadership in developing a competitive workforce.

The purpose of the Quality Association Standards (QAS) is to provide benchmarks for state associations to determine levels of performance and satisfactory service to their members and prospective members. QAS should be useful to states in evaluating their basic organization and whether their leadership is providing minimum, average or superior programs for the membership. It’s not intended to be a competition between states and/or to establish a “class system” of state associations, nor is it a system for rating the performance of a state’s executive director or volunteer leaders.

The hope of the QAS is to prompt states to challenge themselves to improve and maintain the very best possible organization and leadership for their members within the association’s means. ACTE is committed to assisting state leadership in reaching Association goals.  

Permanent link to this article: